When Dreams Take Hold

glacier-finalI’m finally chipping away at all my Iceland photographs. It’s a slow process, as I am juggling this with work on many other things.

This photo is my favorite from the trip- both in the result and in memory. Chris and I woke before sunrise after staying overnight in our awful over-priced hotel and drove like zombies to Jökulsárlón Lagoon. We weren’t even sure where we were going- we only had a tiny pin on a map to navigate by. As the sun rose, I began to worry our crazy effort was all for nothing.

Finally, we arrived at the spot on the map. We pulled into the first turn-off from the highway and walked towards the water. We were lucky enough to nab a private spot on the shore to shoot where we could see some of the ice that had broken off the glacier (I didn’t realize how lucky this was until after we finished shooting, when we went around to the other side of the lagoon where a dozen photographers were lined up on the beach shooting next to each other).

At first, I threw caution to the wind and tried to walk barefoot into the lagoon to get the shot. What a disaster! My toes and feet immediately froze and stopped me in my tracks. This is what it looked like. Screaming from pain, I retreated back to shore. Thankfully, I was able to figure out a different method of getting the shot, by propping myself up on a little tiny rock near the water’s edge. That was significantly less awful than standing barefoot in the glacial water…that is until I fell backward into the water a few seconds after the photo was taken!

It’s funny how long ideas can live inside you. I dreamt this photo over 5 years ago sitting in my apartment in LA. Before there was a path to make it. Before I knew there was any reason to go to Iceland. It lived in my mind, without a purpose or a plan to capture it. It was just one of those quiet, unrelenting thoughts that plays over and over in your head. Then finally, it happened. It’s so satisfying when you finally get to release those dreams into the world.

Is there a dream inside you waiting to be realized? Hold it close. Don’t let it go. Someday, you may actually get a chance to seize it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

