Sacred Space

I’ve noticed a lot of people have sacred time slots carved into their every day lives.

For some, this comes in the form of prayer or meditation.

For others, it’s undisrupted time spent with spouses or children.

My grandmother and my father both had a similar sacred practice: in the early morning before anyone else had woken, they quietly arose and sat in their bathrobes for an hour or so, sipping coffee and reading the newspaper. When I would try to talk to either of them during this morning ritual, I would immediately get the sense that I was intruding on something very private. This was their sacred space, minus the religious part. But it was a spiritual practice just the same.

I’m not a spiritual person, nor a morning one, so I’ve noticed a lack of these quiet moments in my own life. During the course of the day, there is so little time to simply do what I want, without the disruption of people, text messages, phone calls, emails or errands. I am completely devoid of sacred time devoted wholly to introspection.

It’s something I’ve started consciously building into my days.

Introspection is so imperative to the artist, but sometimes so difficult to access because the world is designed to keep us constantly entertained and outwardly focused. Without creating these quiet corners for our minds, we risk never accessing our best ideas or deepest insights.

For the last week, I’ve been creating a sacred two hour period every night leading into bed time. I use this time to do meditative things, like write these blog posts, read my favorite book, reflect on my goals, and then slowly, get ready for bed.

I usually hate going to bed because I am a night owl, and the idea of slowing down long enough to sleep feels like an​ unwanted inconvenience. But for some reason, transforming this portion of my evening into a long luxurious process puts me just in the right mood to sleep when the time comes.

I’m currently loving these sacred corners of my day, so much so that I’m contemplating building them into my morning as well. I don’t know if these practices fall to pieces when one gets busy- but I’m hoping I can maintain them as the year ebbs on and my work picks up. Lord knows, we could all use more introspection in our lives. Myself more than anyone!

Leave a Reply

